Being Grateful ≠ Being Complacent

Learning the art of enjoying the moment…

Aaron Charles
5 min readSep 2, 2017
Photo credit: Warren Wong on Unsplash

The taste of my turkey club panini rested on my tongue, but the words lingered in my mind far longer. I was getting lunch with my friend, Zac. He’s someone who simply inspires you. That was no different this Tuesday at lunchtime.

The conversation had shifted to dreams of the future and the struggle to live in the moment at times. Then he dropped some wisdom.

“I try to focus on being grateful,” he said.

Simple statement? Yes. Powerful impact? Completely.

“I try to focus on being grateful.”

You see, I’d been wrestling with this seemingly constant struggle between the present moment and the ideal future long before I sat down at the deli that day. These words from Zac were the catalyst for a pretty spectacular journey in my life over the next few days.

A journey of moments.

Waiting for Baggage

As I set my carry-on in the overhead compartment, I realized that I hadn’t set aside any of my usual in-flight entertainment. I went to unzip my bag and grab my headphones, but I stopped when I noticed the long line of people behind me waiting to get to their seats.

--

--

Aaron Charles

Christ-follower. Husband to @SarahLCharles. Simple moments hold great power. Connect with me at my website: www.aarondcharles.com