Faith and Doubt

My journey of finding how the two coexist…

Aaron Charles
14 min readFeb 23, 2019
Photo credit: Stephanie LeBlanc on Unsplash

It didn’t seem like the place to have a crisis of faith.

I guess one place is as good as any for it, but if I was to have one, I always thought it would happen at church or at home or maybe alone on a mountaintop in the pouring rain. Instead I found myself in the dimly-lit office of my college professor. You may read that and think it’s exactly the place you might imagine someone having such a crisis. Maybe I’ll even exacerbate your emotions by saying it was the office of my college philosophy professor. But, for me, the moment was completely unexpected. It almost didn’t feel real, like I was in some kind of dream. What had brought this onslaught of existential reckoning in my life?

Questions.

Questions about the Creation story in the Bible. Questions about the Bible itself. Questions about God. Questions that all those questions made me ask about myself.

Photo credit: Emily Morter on Unsplash

You see, I came from a fairly conservative religious background. I attended a private, Baptist school from 1st grade until I graduated high school. That was *extremely* conservative — like…

--

--

Aaron Charles

Christ-follower. Husband to @SarahLCharles. Simple moments hold great power. Connect with me at my website: www.aarondcharles.com