The First Wednesday After Dad Died

Aaron Charles
1 min readAug 22, 2024

--

I rode Dad’s bike today

He said his other one was better

But I felt as if I could fly

I went through the town

Past the college near his apartment

Looking for the Greenway Trail

I had heard its name before

How it looped underneath the highway

But now I couldn’t find it

I just kept going west

Looking for the way home

But still I couldn’t find it

Then, up ahead, a path

Unknowing, I found the Greenway Trail

Coursing by the peaceful stream

I had to pass by death

The gravestones that lined the way

But still I wasn’t home

I almost missed my turn

Covered by shade from the trees

But I turned around just in time

Under the highway

It led me to the familiar park

Past children playing

I was almost home

But a hill climbed ahead

My strength was gone

I had to get off the bike

I walked it to the top of the hill

Home was just ahead

Now I know that God leads

Even when the valley has shadows

His Greenway led me home

--

--

Aaron Charles

Christ-follower. Husband to @SarahLCharles. Simple moments hold great power. Connect with me at my website: www.aarondcharles.com